2 CDR
Label: Uxbridge 1493
Country: Japan.
Released: August 2021.
Recorded: Live at Maple Leaf Gardens, Toronto, ON, Canada 21st November 1977.
Sound: Audience recording.
Comments:  A new show available for first time on pro-bootleg marked. I don't have the bootleg, but Uxbridge cdr label use to make ok sounded bootlegs.
Roots: Audience recorded tape.
Time: 62:37/ 54:27

Front cover
 CDR 1
 1. Intro
 2. We Will Rock You 
(slow, on tape)
 3. We Will Rock You 
 4. Brighton Rock
 5. Somebody to Love
 6. It's Late
 7. Death On Two Legs
 8. Killer Queen
 9. Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy
 10. I'm In Love With My Car
 11. Get Down Make Love
 12. The Millionaire Waltz
 13. You're My Best Friend
 14. Spread Your Wings
 15. Liar
 16. Love of My Life
 17. '39
 CDR 2
 1. White Man
 2. The Prophet's Song
 3. Guitar Solo
 4. The Prophet's Song  (reprise)
 5. Keep Yourself Alive
 6. Stone Cold Crazy
 7. Now I'm Here
 8. Bohemian Rhapsody
 9. Tie Your Mother Down
 10. We Will Rock You
 11. We Are the Champions
 12. Sheer Heart Attack
 13. Jailhouse Rock
 14. God Save the Queen  (tape)

Back to bootleg CDR  page        Back to main page 

Back cover

QUEEN is still enthusiastic about archiving. The latest achievement, "NEWS OF THE WORLD Tour", is now available as a new excavation live album.

It was the "November 21, 1977 Toronto performance" that was imbued with this work. It is the first appearance audience recording. It has been said that there are three types of recordings in this show, but so far the rumors have stopped. For the first time, it was released as an actual sound. Moreover, it is not just the first appearance. The content of the hot early live that I hear for the first time is a hot topic among enthusiasts.

Anyway, first of all, the position of the show. As always, let's unravel from the schedule at that time.

● 1977
・ January 13-March 18: North America # 1 (40 performances)
・ May 8-June 7: Europe # 1 (19 performances)
"October 28," News of the World "released"
・ November 11th-December 22nd: North America # 2 (26 performances) ← ★ Coco ★
● 1978
・ April 12-May 13: Europe # 2 (20 performances)

This is the overall picture of "A DAY AT THE RACES TOUR" and "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR". In 1977, the two tours were interlaced, with both performing in Toronto. Among them, this work will be performed in November, which is the beginning of the latter. It was the 8th concert of "North America # 2".

The quality of this work, which conveys such a show to the world for the first time, is also excellent. It must be a slightly warm vintage recording, but there is no sense of squishy. The hall sound is a type that adds thickness and dynamism rather than a sense of distance, and the rushing force of the core that breaks through the thick sound is also wonderful. To be honest, the rhythm section is dango-like and it's hard to grasp the fine details, but the finest things such as piano, guitar, and vocals are very clear. Not only Freddie's singing voice, but also the chorus and Roger's and Brian's voices can be understood.

Moreover, it is fresh and neat. Since it is digitized directly from the Omoto cassette, it is the ultimate gene that suddenly appeared for the first time. In addition to the master's original "Raw transfer", an equalized "Revised version" was also released on the net, but this work is an original mastering based on "Raw transfer". We did not earn strange sound pressure, and while making the most of the natural sound of the master, we reproduced the sound played 44 years ago as faithfully as possible.

The natural vintage sound is drawn on the energetic stage because it is the beginning of the tour. Speaking of the symbol of "North America # 2", the absolute masterpiece "ULTIMATE HOUSTON 1977 (Wardour-246)" reigns, so let's organize the set while comparing.

Queen I: Liar / Keep Yourself Alive
Sheer Heart Attack: Brighton Rock / Killer Queen / Stone Cold Crazy / Now I'm Here
A Night at the Opera: Death on Two Legs (Dedicated to…) / I'm In Love With My Car / You're My Best Friend / Love Of My Life / '39 / The Prophet's Song / Bohemian Rhapsody
A Day at the Races: Somebody To Love / Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy / The Millionaire Waltz / White Man / Tie Your Mother Down
News of the World: We Will Rock You / It's Late (★) / Get Down Make Love / Spread Your Wings (★) / We Are The Champions / Sheer Heart Attack
Others: Jailhouse Rock
* Note: "★" marks are songs that cannot be heard in "ULTIMATE HOUSTON 1977".

… And it looks like this. There are some curl cuts between songs, probably to save tape, but it's basically a full show. And what is delicious is the performance itself. Anyway, it's in good shape and has plenty of momentum. However, it feels like a tight iron wall rather than jumping with explosive tension. Brian also has a scene where he mistakenly plays the key on the guitar solo of "The Millionaire Waltz", but other than that, it is almost perfect and elegant. Freddie also has a strong singing voice, and the new songs of "NEWS OF THE WORLD" are not dangerous.

The Toronto Night in November 1977, which the whole world experienced for the first time, was a masterpiece until it was refreshing. Audience recording cannot be stopped because we can meet such shows, not just filling the sound source collection. The QUEEN archive is irresistible. A new masterpiece that first appeared so that you can fully enjoy such a real pleasure. Please enjoy it so that you can chew it carefully.

★ Excellent audience recording of "November 21, 1977 Toronto performance" which will be released for the first time in the world. The hall sound is a type that adds thickness and dynamism rather than a sense of distance, and the rushing force of the core that breaks through the thick sound is also wonderful. There is no feeling of squishy, ​​and the finest items such as piano, guitar, and vocals are very clear. Not only Freddie's singing voice, but also the chorus can be understood as Roger and Brian's voice. The energetic stage is wonderful because it is the beginning of the tour, and the iron wall is tight. Brian also plays the guitar solo of "The Millionaire Waltz" by mistake in the key, but other than that, he plays almost perfectly and gracefully. It is a 2-disc set packed with fresh masterpieces that the world knows for the first time.